The KykNet Silwerskermfees has become one of the most anticipated film festivals in the country, showcasing some of the best South African talent and celebrating all that the South African film industry has to offer.

Held annually at The Bay Hotel in Camps Bay, the festival plays host to dozens of actors, producers, directors and filmmakers in a gorgeous setting. Overlooking Camps Bay beach, The Bay Hotel transforms into space where creativity and excellence is celebrated.

Since its inception in 2010, the Silwerskermfees has gone from strength to strength. The festival has become infamous for unearthing talent, and has launched the careers of many directors, actors, writers and producers.

Last year’s winner for Best Film in the 12-minute Short Film category, ‘Versnel’ – written and directed by Dian Weys – was lauded for its riveting storyline, earning Weys the award for best script as well.

In the 24-minute short film category, ‘Soldaat’, a story about two schoolboys who unwillingly get involved in underhanded gangster deals, took top honours. Written and directed by talented filmmaker, Amy Jephta, the film was applauded for its suspenseful premise and eventual twist.

KykNet recently revealed the 20 short films selected for this year’s festival – ten 11-minute short films and ten 22-minute short films.

The 11-minute entrants will each receive R95 000 from KykNet to produce their film, while the 22-minute entrants will each receive R175 000 to produce their film.

This year’s selected entrants show a unique blend of up-and-coming talent, and some stalwarts that have been in the industry for years.

The 11-minute short films making their debut at Silwerskerm 2018 are:

Producer: Ferdinand W Gernandt
Director: Ferdinand W Gernandt
Writer: Ferdinand W Gernandt

‘n Kombi, kameelperd en ‘n camcorder
Producers: Ettienne Booysen en Morné du Toit
Director: Ettienne Booysen
Writer: Ettienne Booysen

Baai-baai Josef K.
Producer: Danielle Retief
Director: Marius de Bruyn
Writer: Marius de Bruyn

‘n Sterrejag
Producer: Johan Riekert
Director: Luan Jacobs
Writer: Johan Riekert

Nag van die Ondier
Producer: Lika de Beer
Director: Liesel Harris-Kruger
Writer: Lika de Beer

Die leeftyd van ‘n Orgidee
Prodcuers: Niel van Deventer en Gawie Myburgh
Director: Marí Borstlap
Writer: Marí Borstlap

Producer: Porra van der Merwe
Director: Pierre-Arnold Theron
Writers: Kristin Pienaar, Hendrik Niewoudt, Reuben Murphy

Producers: Milan Murray en Johan Prinsloo
Director: Milan Murray
Writer: Milan Murray

Producer: Nicki Priem
Director: Michael Klein
Writer: Michael Klein

Producers: Jaco Loubser en Paul Venter
Director: SW Strauss
Writer: Marcel Spaumer

And in the 22-minute category:

Die Ongenooides
Producer: Frankie Opperman
Director: Chris Corbett
Writer: Ruane van Rooyen

Fluit Fluit
Producer: Duan Wanty
Director: Hardus van Deventer
Writer: Neeltje Swanepoel

Producers: Christelle Parrott en Wynand Dreyer
Director: Erik Holm
Writer: Tony Byleveld

Axis Mundi
Producers: Sara Hallet, Sein Steinberg en Alastair Orr
Directors: Sean Steinberg en Matthew Jankes
Writers: Sean Steinberg en Matthew Jankes
Producers: Philip Nolte en Lyall Ramsden
Director: JP Pienaar
Writer: Based on a short story by Clari Niemand. Script-writer: Burger Meyer

Cowboy Dan
Producers: Matthew Townsend en Wynand Louw
Director: Wynand Louw
Writer: Wynand Louw

Die Invloed
Producer: Zak Hendrikz
Director: Neels Clasen






Digital Marketing

Revenue Management




    Corporate Social Responsibility

    Please get in touch – we would love to hear from you